StartingXI: Jake Vendramin (WhitecapsXI creator)

Posted on August 24, 2013 by

0


20130823-220441.jpg

StartingXI

1.) What was your journey to Whitecaps fandom?

“As a young fan, I did not follow the Caps all that closely during their USL days. I watched some matches on TV when they were only on Shaw TV on channel 4, being broadcasted with horrible video quality haha. As soon as the news was released that they would join the Timbers in being the MLS’ next expansion side, I was elated. Since then, my dad and I have been season ticket holders every season and have enjoyed every single minute of it.”

2.) What other leagues around the world do you follow?

“I follow the EPL quite closely, I also love Tottenham Hotspur and they are the only team I support from Europe.”

3.) Complete the phrase: “If you don’t anything about the Whitecaps the one thing you need to know is…”

“Becoming a supporter is like being adopted into a brand new loving family. You will never regret attending a match. A $20 ticket also comes with a priceless amount of excitement, passion and memories.”

4.) What young Whitecaps player do you think has the biggest potential?

“Of course many will say Russell Teibert, and there is no reason for me to disagree. But the young Caps play whom I think has the greatest potential in Kekuta Manneh. I can envision him to be an MLS start in years to come. We must all keep in mind that he is still a teenager, just wait until he has experience under his belt…”

5.) Who is your favourite current or past Whitecaps player?

“By far, Davide Chiumiento. His skill was absolutely unmatched and I honestly if we had kept him until the end of the 2012 season, it would have been a completely different story. I don’t think it is any coincidence that the Whitecaps went into a month and a half winless streak the very same week he was sold…”

6.) What has been your top Whitecaps MLS moment to date?

“There are so many to choose from but I have to say my favourite moment would have been the unreal 3 goal comeback against SKC back in 2011. It is going to take quite a lot to top that.”

7.) Who is you favourite football player of all time?

“My favourite footballer would have to be Gareth Bale. In my opinion he is easily one of the best, if not the best player in the world as of right now. I am devastated that he will likely be heading to Madrid this summer but I still love him as a player.”

8.) What is your favourite football moment?

“Italy winning the 2006 World Cup is by far my favourite football moment of all time. From time to time I will watch highlights on YouTube from the tournament and every time it gives me chills. I hope they can do it all over again in Brazil next year!”

9.) How do you see the Whitecaps fitting in the Vancouver sports landscape?

“I think they are perfect for Vancouver. They are a fresh, some might say ‘hip’ sporting franchise that will continue to do extremely well for years to come. They have what it takes to get the entire province of BC on its feet cheering game in and game out!”

10.) What do you think is necessary for MLS to reach the next level?

“Of course expansion will play a big role in that, but Don Garber seems to have that covered. Another thing that will help is signings like Clint Dempsey to Seattle, this creates a name for the league. The MLS organizations should try to sign more players in their prime and get more involved in the international transfer market. Lastly, I think if an MLS team won the CONCACAF Champions League it would be massive for the league. Undeniably we are all still frustrated with the loss to Montreal in the Voyageurs Cup. Oddly enough I still find myself rooting for them to do well in the competition haha”

11.) What inspired you to create WhitecapsXI and what is the most satisfying aspect of it?

“I mainly wanted to just voice my opinions and thoughts on the Whitecaps and what better way to do it! I knew I was capable of doing it and I have not looked back since. Aaron Campbell did a great job when he was writing for XI and now I have overjoyed to have you, Jorge, and Graham Nichol on the team!”

Extra Time

12.) If all the Whitecaps players were available for selection, what would be your ideal Starting XI?

“I would use a 4-3-1-2 formation and it would look a little something like this:

Ousted (GK); Lee (RB), O’Brien (CB), Leverón (CB), Harvey (LB); Reo-Coker (RCM), Koffie (CDM), Watson (LCM); Teibert (CAM); Camilo (FWD), Miller (FWD).”

13.) Tell us a little more about your soccer history

“I have been playing soccer since I was 5 years old and I play for Langley United. I work hard and train every single day to improve my skills. I take soccer very seriously and aspire to play at a high level one day. In 2009 I was lucky enough to be invited to play in the youth club World Cup (The Gothia Cup) in Gothenburg, Sweden. We finished in the top 30 out of over 100 teams from all around the world.”

Jorge Mendoza
@JM3ndoza

Posted in: StartingXI