Whitecaps Weekly Update

Posted on August 5, 2013 by

0


20130804-222643.jpg

Whitecaps tied the Timbers 1-1. (Courtesy of TheProvince.com)

Last Match

Final score: Whitecaps 1 ā€“ Timbers 1

Scoring summary
49′ – POR – Ryan Johnson (Diego Valeri)
69′ – VAN – Jordan Harvey (Camilo Sanvezzo)

Match Stats
Shots: Portland 13 – 10 Vancouver
Shots on Goal: Portland 3 – 4 Vancouver
Saves: Portland 3 – 2 Vancouver
Fouls: Portland 16 – 15 Vancouver
Offsides: Portland 3 – 1 Vancouver
Corners: Portland 5 – 3 Vancouver

Man of the Match: Jordan Harvey
Referee: Silviu Petrescu
Attendance: 20,674

Here are the highlights from that match:

Post Match Quotes

Martin Rennie:

“I know that we’ve got a lot of character,

“Tonight we were missing seven players that would normally start so we were very depleted, but our players didn’t use that as an excuse. They dug in and they played well.

“I think we’re very confident. We’re just a few points off first place and we’re playing well. We’ve got games in hand over some of the teams above us, and I think confidence is high.”

Jordan Harvey:

“(Rodney) Wallace was kind of all over me the whole game during set pieces,

“I just tried to stay back so he couldn’t get ahold of me and then darted near post and Camilo sent in a perfect ball. I just tried to get my head on it.”

Matt Watson:

“It’s Portland, it’s a rivalry, and I think it was always going to be that way,

“There are always going to be a few challenges that are going to be a little bit heavy, but I think that’s part of the game.”

Updated Standings

20130804-224135.jpg20130804-224139.jpg

Injury Report

  • Kenny Miller (adductor)
  • Brad Rusin (sprained ankle)
  • Andy O’Brien (hamstring)
  • Jay DeMerit (Achilles)
  • Omar Salgado (foot)
  • Next Match

    20130804-223814.jpg

