So Who Should Start?

Posted on February 28, 2013 by

4


Per usual, there has been much talk back and fourth amongst fans as to what the Whitecaps starting eleven should look like. With all the departures and new arrivals of players, the starting lineup will probably look a bit different than last season. For the goalkeeper situation, WhitecapsXI writer Aaron Campbell has his opinion here. Personally, I think the Caps should go with a 4-2-3-1 or 4-5-1 set up (depending on how you look at it). So here is the lineup, with that I have created, which in my opinion will be the most effective:

20130227-161645.jpg

Let’s break this down.

Attackers

The front three of my lineup,which consists of Salgado, Mattocks and Camilo are always interchangeable with the likes of Miller, Hurtado, Manneh, Paulo Jr and a few others as well. Some may question the selection of Salgado but I stand behind my choice because I think he has what it takes. In the beginning of last season, I was very impressed with Salgado’s footwork, pace and ball movement so I think he should get the start (if he is fit enough).

Midfielders

Most of my selections in the midfield are pretty straight forward, you can strongly expect to see a centre midfield three including Reo-Coker, Kobayashi and of course Gershon Koffie. There may be glimpses of players like Jun Marques-Davidson and Matt Watson throughout the season but I think the midfield three will remain pretty concrete this year.

Defenders

There was been plenty of debate around what the Caps backline should look like this year. In my opinion, the lineup shown above is the strongest backline going forward for many reasons. YP Lee and DeMerit are obviously going to be starters and Andy O’Brien showed well at the end of the season last year so I expect to see him starting too. Then there is Alain Rochat, who we saw in various positions last season including as a defender and a defensive midfielder. Whitecaps fans can agree that the entire team played better with him as an outside back so that is where I expect him to be.

Goalkeeper:

WhitecapsXI writer Aaron Campbell has already gone into detail about this subject as I mentioned earlier, so I will keep it short and sweet. I think Brad Knighton should start in goal for the Caps because I was very impressed with his play near the end of the season. It is hard to say who I expect to start for the Caps as a goalkeeper, but Knighton is my personal preference.

Next Up:

The Whitecaps begin their 2013 MLS season at BC Place against Canadian Rivals Toronto FC. The match kicks off on Saturday at 3:30 pm PT.

Let us know what your opinions are in the comment section below.

